back to homepage

Worth seeing places close to the city of Brno

LEDNICE - VALTICE RESORT

The Lednice – Valtice Resort, which has been included in the World UNESCO Heritage in 1996, is called “Valtice and its gardens.” It is a complex of the stately chateaux built in 17th century the by the famous Lichtenstein family, surrounded by the magnificent gardens covered with crowns of flowerbeds, and splendid park areas. The region is also famous for wine growing.

Valtické Underground

In Valtice, half a kilometre of reconstructed 700-year old cellars have been opened to the public with the assistance of the wine makers of the Sedláček Vineyards of Valtice. Part of a tour of the Valtice Underground includes a museum dedicated to bricks and fossils. In addition to providing a place for holding social events, it is possible to view here a display of the best wines from the vineyards of Valtice.
The origins of the Valtice Underground date from 1289, in connection with the founding of a Minorite monastery. In many places, however, there has been considerable damage owing to both time and town infrastructure. This labyrinth of tunnels has now been rescued, particularly through the use of a unique component, the so-called Valtice strengthening arch. Other parts of the underground tunnels should be made available in years to come.

A speciality of the Valtice Underground are the Sklepiéři (cellar masters), specialists in the administering of wines in cellars with knowledge of the viticultural environment and the unique terroir of the vineyards (from French, meaning the total agricultural fitness of a specific terrain toward the cultivation of vines) and of the Lednice-Valtice region. On offer, too, is the new Valtice range of wines christened Kolonáda Valtice.

Distance from Brno: 60 km

Moravian Karst And Macocha Abbyss

Moravian Karst is one of the most important karst area of Central Europe. In the area of Moravian Karst, there are more than 1100 caverns and gorges.
Famous Macocha Abyss is more than 138 m deep and it is the biggest gorge of its kind in the Czech Republic and even in the Central Europe. The upper part of this nature unique is about 174 m long and 76 m wide. There are two platforms for tourists at the edges. The first one is Upper Bridge constructed in 1882. The second one is little bit lower called Lower Bridge. This lower bridge comes from 1899 and it is about 92 m above the bottom of Macocha that you can see from there.
Ditance from Brno: 25 km

Telč

Reflected in the surface of placid ponds, the picturesque town of Telč is a true real pearl of the Vysočina region. The ancient royal water fort was founded here in the 13th century on the crossroad of busy merchant routes.
Besides the monumental Renaissance chateau with an English park, the most significant sight is the town square, a unique complex of historical houses in the Renaissance and Baroque styles. Recently, fine arts and music have been playing an important role in the town's cultural life. Several annual music events take place here (such as the "Holidays in Telč" festival ). Telč can be easily reached from the Praha-Brno highway.
The chateau - a large Renaissance chateau complex from the 17th century, originally a Gothic castle of the Lords of Hradec, was built mainly according to the project of B.Maggi of Arogne. The chateau has a garden and a park, and luxurious historical interiors with unique decorations, period furnishings and valuable collections.
The chateau together with the town was included in the UNESCO list in 1992.
Distance from Brno: 85 km

The Slavkov - Austerlitz Chateau

Slavkov (or Austerlitz in German) is a small town near Brno in Southern Moravia. It is known due to the famous battle of three emperors that took place near there in December 2nd 1805. The Russian Tsar Alexander I and the Austrian Emperor Franz I -- the two defeated emperors -- stayed in the castle before the battle, while the French Emperor Napoleon -- the winner -- chose it for his temporary seat after the battle finished.
The castle was founded by the Kounic family in 16th century. In the end of the 17th century it was redesigned by Italian architect Domenico Martinelli on the basis of Enrico Zuccali's plans. Building was carried out by Vaclav Petruzzi, probably with the help of Austrian architect Josef E. Fischer of Erlach.
At present, almost the entire first floor of Slavkov castle is accessible to the public. It is comprised of parts of the once large Kaunitz gallery, the beginnings of which go back to the first half of the 17th century. The biggest expansion of the family painting gallery happened in the second half of the 18th century under Václav Antonín of Kaunitz. The gallery contained not only copies but also the originals of the works of famous European masters. However, as a result of losses, sales and fires, by the end of the 19th century, the collection was reduced to a mere remnant, parts of which, especially the portraits of the members of the Kaunitz family, are used in the castle expositions.